Response to “Valentine’s Day 2013″

Image

This was quite surprising. I noticed a few unexpected things after listening to this radio episode. First of all, I really like the idea of telling a few stories. At first 58 minutes seemed like a really long time, but it was spread out nicely across the different stories. Of course, some I liked and some I didn’t. I think that if I were listening to this in my car, I would have just turned it off after the second story (which was also my favorite). It was for class so I listened till the end. I noticed that what they did very often is underline the stories with music. I know that any ambient must be relevant to the story somehow but here I felt that they overdid it a few times. An example for this would be the part in the second story, where he is talking about the whole 30 days being like a race. As he said the word “race”, this weird fast paced music started playing, which was kind of comical but I felt like it did not belong into that part of the story, because all it did is distract me. In other parts I really felt that the ambient sounds were useful and underlined the track well.
With these short stories, I really discovered two important things. First of all, sometimes its better to just hear voices and not see the people speaking. I think that their appearance was completely irrelevant and would only distract me. The other thing I discovered is that when listening to a story, it is not a good idea to do anything else. Each word brings the story forward, and so when multitasking, obviously sometimes you miss a few sentences and therefore miss important parts of the story. I am so used to tuning out background music (which I basically play whenever possible- even while studying), that I automatically without even wanting it tuned out what they were saying when I wasn’t focused enough.
So all in all I think that my expectations for this audio sections have risen. As long as I find a way to sit down and focus on something I cannot see, only hear, I think I will enjoy myself and listen to radio without any troubles! I can see that my perception of radio was not completely right, and that there must be some fundamental constraint which prevents our generation to listen to it, because as mentioned earlier, there are things that only radio can provide, which TV or books cannot.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

