Response to “Sound Reporting”

Image

CC Kevin Felt

If it doesn’t sound right, it isn’t right. I think that is something that resonated throughout this whole excerpt. It is incredibly interesting how polarized the difference between written and spoken language can be. Why is it that some of the things we have been taught for years in school become unusable in the case of radio? Maybe because radio isn’t supposed to achieve the same effect as an academic article. Radio should be more natural. More like a conversation between two people. The excerpt mentions that as well. When addressing the huge masses of people that are listening, it is important to pretend that you are talking to one person. Like a dialog in a way.  This notion of a “conversation” or a talk is something that I enjoy on radio. It’s also the reason why I don’t like listening to news on radio. Something that was rather surprising is the fact that I enjoyed the Valentine’s Day radio show, reason being that they were telling a story in a very casual way. I enjoyed listening because it felt like one of my friends telling me about their experience and what not. In my opinion, the most important thing is the story itself. Then, the way you tell it comes into play, because if you don’t tell your story well, nobody will listen, even if the content itself is good.
The excerpt contained many good tips, but something that no one should overlook is keeping it light, simple and natural!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment