Response to “How Images Think” by Ron Burnett

Ron Burnett makes a very interesting point, which I mentioned in one of my previous posts where I was criticizing radio and comparing it to TV. He mentions that stories are not limited to words, they are expressed through shapes and forms and colors and motives. I think that the notion that an image can tell a thousand words is absolutely correct. It is all up to the viewer and listener to interpret what they see, it is even up to them to see what they want to see. (a lot of see’s in this sentence :D) I think that through the technology that is available to us nowadays, we are so used to seeing images that our brains automatically process information given to us by these images in certain predictable ways (advertisers and marketers make use of this very often). I think that discovering these common connections we automatically make would be very interesting, because it would not only reveal to us how things are presented, but also teach us how to show people what we want them to see when we create an image.

Tags: , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Week In Review | ThirstyTony - March 25, 2013

Leave a comment